The Student Room Group

Which UK universities apart from Oxbridge are comparable to the Ivy Leagues?

I'm currently an international student interested in applying to both sides of the atlantic for university. I was wondering apart from Oxbridge, which British universities can compete with the Ivy League schools in terms of:

-Teaching Quality
-Job prospects (in general)
-International Prestige/Reputation/wow factor (whatever you wanna call it)

Scroll to see replies

Reply 1
Imperial, LSE and some others.
Reply 2
LSE definitely at the moment and the it depends on the subject for others.
Reply 3
Imperial, LSE, UCL, and a few other Russell Group unis? In a foreign country though, the ones that people will know about are Oxbridge.

Why the negs? All of these unis are great, and comparable to Ivy League, the ones listed are pretty much the best in the UK. And its true, in a foreign country, Oxford and Cambridge are the universities known, even above Harvard/Prineton/Yale...
(edited 11 years ago)
Reply 4
Are you guys being serious!? Realistically only Imperial and LSE can be comparable. People don't understand, Ivy League has a globally famous name equivalent to Oxford and Cambridge, sure not everyone can name all the ivy leagues but they have heard if Ivy League as a whole. In terms of global prestige like the OP wanted only Imperial and LSE can compete.

People don't realise British unis with the exception of Oxbridge,LSE, Imperial, St Andrews (thnx royal family) are the only ones who are VERY well known, Durham and UCL will barely raise any eyebrows
Original post by Mierder
I'm currently an international student interested in applying to both sides of the atlantic for university. I was wondering apart from Oxbridge, which British universities can compete with the Ivy League schools in terms of:

-Teaching Quality