The Student Room Group

Contract Law Q - Please Help!!

Hi,

I am a first year Law student and have a coursework thing due in a few weeks which I am really stuck on. If I fail it means I fail the whole year and I am starting to panic! Ok, the problem is as follows...

Stoutbuild Ltd has competed a building job for a computing company. Both parties agreed a price before work commenced but problems aose which meant the original contract had to be modified and the computing company requested extra work which was not in original quotation. No written record of the changes were made or a price agreed. Although the computer company agrees some additional payment is justified it has objected to the sums charged.

I must negotiate a settlement of the dispute.

If anyone can give me any idea of the areas of law I need to include I will be soooo grateful. At first I thought it was Williams and Roffey but now I'm not so sure.

Sorry for the long post
Reply 1
Consideration and contract privity, williams vs roffery bros and style vs myric i think are some decent cases studies for it not to sure on the exact names of the cases but im sure theree somet like that, christmas exams were a while back so cant quite remember em!
Reply 2
Thanks for your help, bit confused about what to say about contract privity? (Sorry to be a pain) Also, if there is consideration hwo do they decide how much the computing company have to pay? All I can find is a 'reasonable amount'!!

Thanks again
Reply 3
Not to sure on contract privity but in the exam feedback they said that should of been mentioned best bet is to look at williams vs roffery bros thats pretty much the exact same case.

Stoutbuild have given consideration by completeing the extra work so they are entitled to the full ammount, also depends wether it was past consideration or the other cant quite remeber, look at promissary estoppel aswell.