The Student Room Group
Carr Saunders Halls, LSE
London School of Economics
London

LSE accommodation Q and A

Now that the offers have started to roll in, if you have any questions about choosing accommodation, or just about living in London , then I'm happy to help.

I'm a second year student at LSE - I lived in halls last year.

...I'm going to move some of the accommodation related questions from the applicants' thread onto this thread, so that they're all in one place
(edited 5 years ago)

Scroll to see replies

Original post by imogenation111
Hiya! I have a few questions about LSE halls if you wouldn't mind answering them. I'm interested in either Passfield/Carr-Saunders.

Firstly, how does the application process work and can you tell them your order of preference of halls or do they just randomly allocate you?

Would you say the halls are very social and you will always find people you can get along with/go out with/ work with etc?

As there are a lot of international students at LSE, do they tend to go to any particular halls or is it quite well integrated?

2. Regarding how social the halls are, Rosebery, Passfield, Bankside and Carr-Saunders are all normally really social. The fact that they’re catered means you have an opportunity to mix with everyone in the hall, as you can eat with lots of different people in the first few weeks while you find your friends. Regarding other halls, I’ve heard less positive things about social life there.

3. LSE is like 70% international, so yes, there are a lot of international students! I’d say there are generally fewer at Passfield/Carr-Saunders because these halls only offer 31 week contracts and you have to move all your stuff out at Christmas and Easter. Which isn’t very convenient if you have to fly home, but is great if you live in the South of England and want to save money on hall fees.