The Student Room Group

AQA Further Maths - What to do?

Hey everyone, I've just got a few questions to ask about Further Maths :smile:

Well at the moment I'm studying A-Level Maths, Physics and Chemistry (My fourth AS was English Language), I am predicted an A* in Maths and Physics and an A in Chemistry, I'm taking a gap year due to my girlfriend becoming pregnant (and I found a job to help pay towards the costs of being a parent, it certainly helps a lot haha!) and during this gap year I want to take an extra A-Level in Further Maths (I'm speaking with my college now about how this will be sorted) as when I go to university I want to study Maths. I asked to do Further Maths when I first came to college but due to having a B grade they said I was ‘unable to be successful’. Unfortunately I got a B grade because the final exam I messed up on and it was worth 50% of the course (Edexcel if I remember correctly) and my other 3 modules I got A*s in. I've always been good at maths, It has been my strong side since I was born says my parents and teachers who had me through secondary school, but of course college doesn’t know this as I joined and all they saw was a grade B. Sigh.

Anyway now that my background has been covered!

My question is…what modules can I take for Further Maths? I took standard Maths for my current A-level, Cores 1-4, MM1B and MD01. I know about MFP1-4, but do I need to take all of them? And what would people suggest be the best combination of modules? I plan to study Mathematics at university and then delve into Mechanical Physics…any help would be appreciated! Thank you for your time, Jake :biggrin:
Hasn't this been asked?:tongue:

FP1-4
M2-3

Here's a link:

AQA have free online textbooks FP2-4 :smile:
Reply 2