The Student Room Group

Oil in the header tank but have been told head gasket is fine!?

Some advise would be greatly appreciated, I feel like jumping off a cliff right about now so any info would be very useful!

Basically, I advised my missus to purchase this little 206 which seemed great (I am a DIY mechanic but fairly competent so advised her on what to spend her £1300 on).
I never knew how expensive this little thing could be, after finding the indicator needed replacing which I assured her it couldn't possibly be more than £50 I was horribly wrong when it was closer to £200 just for the part!

Anyway the problem..... Everything seemed fine for the month of her ownership then I went to check the water after noticing the temp a little high to be greeted with a header tank full of oil! I nearly cried a little inside as I knew this was head gasket territory and she has only owned the car a month. Secondarily she says the engine feels a little hesitant at some speeds (I couldn't feel anything as a passenger).

Took it to F1 Autocentres who tested it (presumably sniffer test), however they say nothing is wrong and someone has put oil in the water tank!!! I cannot believe this, for a start I swear I checked the tank when buying the car, and I certainly know me or my girlfriend would never have put oil in the tank!! The previous owner was a DIY mechanic and I cant believe he put oil in it!

So after refusing the £65 radiator flush I asked for a quote for head gasket in case it needs doing in the future..... £750!!! That is £100 more than a main dealer quote, in fact main stealer quoted £700 which included the aux belts, timing belt and tensioner!.