The Student Room Group

Age old Masters question

I have the conception that

a)everyone's done an undergraduate
b)better career growth if you've done a masters
c)I like being around smarter people so masters peers will be intellectually stimulating

therefore i've applied to an MSc in International Business Management straight after finishing my BA in Business Management.

its not like i have no experience, I have ~2 years of IT administration, Marketing directing, operations management experience.

Agree disagree on my conceptions? Am I screwed for the rest of my life?
Reply 1
Everyone's done an undergrad, therefore employers put high weight on the quality of institution rather than just the degree. Doing a masters at some low ranked place won't help your career prospects much. If you can get into a significantly better university than you were at undergrad for (which is common) then its a different story.
Original post by J_W-x
A) so?
B) depends
c) that's the stupidest reason I've ever heard for doing a Master's, ever.

if you're seriously considering spending thousands to do a course so you can be around smarter people then you're an idiot. One of your reasons wasn't even saying you enjoy it?!

course I enjoy it, thats the fundamental reason Im doing it, I love learning!
Reply 3
Original post by poohat
Everyone's done an undergrad, therefore employers put high weight on the quality of institution rather than just the degree. Doing a masters at some low ranked place won't help your career prospects much. If you can get into a significantly better university than you were at undergrad for (which is common) then its a different story.