The Student Room Group

Am I Too Old To Do A PGCE? Primary (with PE) or Sociology

I'm considering a PGCE and a career change from my work now in sports development to either primary or social sciences teaching.However, I need to complete an undergrad degree first, then train so that means I'll be a 45 year old man doing my ECT. My undergrad is in sociology, so I could qualify and teach that subject or use my job experience and focus on primary.I have lots of experience delivering and managing sport in schools and organisations like local councils and sports clubs...I currently work for a first class county in cricket. I hold a variety of sports coaching qualifications and I've delivered PE lessons in a lot of schools as an external provider.I am concerned that 45 is too old to start teaching primary, as male teacher, but also that sociology is a subject with too few jobs available.I have worked abroad before, and would like to do so again, and primary is the best option for that but being in your mid 40's limits opportunities too.Has anyone else qualified at that age? How did it go? Any and all advice appreciated
Reply 1
Original post by uluday