The Student Room Group

Dropping an AS a level subject?

I'm in my first year of a levels and I'm doing Psychology, History, English Literature and Health and Social Care. But I absolutely hate health and social care! There is also a lot of work to do and it takes up time for my other subjects. I don't even know why I picked it, I don't need it for the future either.

I also have depression and it's really hard to cope. I keep considering suicide and just want to end my life, so it is really hard to get on with the work.

If I choose to drop health and social, will it affect my future? I want to be a teacher either for psychology or do a foundation year in biology and be a biology teacher.

Will it be better to drop it or to continue? Do universities mind?

Thank you
Reply 1
Many people do only 3 a levels and a lot of uni's do not require a separate AS, so really it shouldn't hinder you at all. You're much better off with 3 good grades than 4 average ones anyway. As for being depressed I really recommend going to see a counsellor or such like as feeling so down can also really affect your studies which may not bode well for the future. I really hope things get better for you soon!

Posted from TSR Mobile
Reply 2
Drop it. 9.5/10 universities never ask for an AS in their offer. Having a 4th AS didnt stop me getting offers, i don't see why it would for yourself.
Reply 3
Original post by LeonieEmily
Many people do only 3 a levels and a lot of uni's do not require a separate AS, so really it shouldn't hinder you at all. You're much better off with 3 good grades than 4 average ones anyway. As for being depressed I really recommend going to see a counsellor or such like as feeling so down can also really affect your studies which may not bode well for the future. I really hope things get better for you soon!

Posted from TSR Mobile