The Student Room Group

24 and still undecided

Hello. As the title says, I am 24 years old and want to return back to education next September, but can't decide on what to do. I was once in university at 18, but ended up not going on due to depression. I am now very eager and motivated to start studying again, the problem is I can't decide which course to do. I always enjoyed languages and social sciences, so I would like to study International Relations, where I could study different subjects from Law, to History, to languages, but have been told it's an area where it's difficult to get a job, and it would be even more difficult for me because I would finish at 27 and have no experience. The other option would be Logistics/Distribution Management. It's an area which I believe is full of potential, and jobs are available. I am doing a 1 year course on it and have been enjoying, but I'm not very good at Maths,and am quite frightened that I would fail because of Maths. I have lost quite a significant number of years and wouldn't want to fail back any more.

I thank you for taking some time to read this, any comment would be nice.
(edited 10 years ago)
Science
Reply 2
I think the best way to succeed in a degree is to choose a subject which genuinely interests you. Whilst getting a specific job in International Relations might be very difficult, a degree in that subject would give you a lot of transferrable skills. You needn't be limited to IR as a career afterwards.
Reply 3
International Relations isn't a vocational subject so it doesn't limit the jobs you can get, it may be difficult to get a job in an an exact IR job like at the United Nations for example but it definitely wouldn't limit your career choices.
make sure you work all your summers. and yes you are a late starter, its a tough road. but i dont think its too late. if you are 34 now, i would think very very carefully what you do next.