The Student Room Group

Can I study medicine without A Level Biology?

I am currently doing my AS Levels. I am studying Maths, Chemistry, English Literature and History. When I started college I wasn't sure what I wanted to do, the only thing I knew is that I wanted to make a difference and help people. But my grades have been good, and I have found that I am particularly enjoying the science subjects. I feel really drawn to medicine and feel like this might me the career for me. The thought of it really excites me and I love both the academic science aspect and the patient contact. I truly cannot think of any career more rewarding.

But everyone around me is telling me not to apply because I won't get in because of my lack of science subjects. I have good grades and got all As and A*s at GCSE (more than 65% A*s). Do I have a shot, or are they right? Will having (stupidly) not taken biology put me at a major disadvantage in the application process, and the course? I'm terrified of getting all rejections next year if I do apply. All advice/opinions will really be appreciated.
You will probably have some limitations becuase most ask for 3 sciences but since your doing chemistry u can still apply for a few. Best advise would be to take up as biology next year if u want to be less limited but apart from that you will be allright.

Posted from TSR Mobile
Reply 2
You should definitely apply. However some medical schools are now requiring A Level Biology as well as A Level Chemistry, so it would be a smart idea to read the undergraduate entry requirements of everywhere you are thinking of applying. Then don't apply to anywhere that wants Biology.

Simples.
Reply 3
Google tsr medicine entry requirements or something like that and there's a page which will show you all the unis and whether they need bio

Posted from TSR Mobile
Reply 4