The Student Room Group

iGCSE vs GCSE Mathematics

I was scheduled to start a GCSE course locally recently, but due to a funding mishap, I am forced to look elsewhere.
The NEC (National Extended College) offers both GCSE and IGCSE Maths subjects, the former being modular tripartite examination, while the latter is a linear two paper job.
I have a few questions:

I know everyone is different, but is there any real difference between the two?

Is the subject matter the same?

Which version is the "easiest" to get an A* in? (going by grades)

Are modular examinations easier in general? (I've never done them before)

Thanks

Scroll to see replies

Original post by coinín
I was scheduled to start a GCSE course locally recently, but due to a funding mishap, I am forced to look elsewhere.
The NEC (National Extended College) offers both GCSE and IGCSE Maths subjects, the former being modular tripartite examination, while the latter is a linear two paper job.
I have a few questions:

Thanks

Although the modular gcse exam papers are still available from Edexcel (and I assume other examiners), all 3 now have to be taken in the same exam period. It isn't possible to take them at different times of the year and combine the results at the end. In my area all schools but one that used them have now switched to the 2 exam linear syllabus. I mention this only to advise against preparing for the modular exam structure unless you have already found a centre offering the exams.

IGCSE does contain some additional more challenging content that you would have to learn if you aspired to an A* grade. Gcse on the other hand has a significant chunk of marks allocated to functional and problem solving questions that many students seem to find hard to prepare for.

If your aptitude for maths is such that an A* grade is realistic do you really need to buy a self study package to prepare for it?

Posted from TSR Mobile
(edited 9 years ago)
Reply 2
Original post by coinín
I have a few questions: