The Student Room Group

Why is driving in london so bloody difficult?

Ive realised most buisness workers in the city use the train/bus and avoid cars at all costs. My dad was driving me ariund central and i was so shocked. Im a new driver and only drive on local easy roads but when we were driving throufh central, it had all these lanes and one way roads. The roundabouts are so huge and scarey and traffic is ridiculous. Even a satnav wont help much. Apparently, central london roads were not really designed for cars. Is there a reason as to why its so difficult to drive here? Im scared i might get a job in the city after university but wont be able to use my car due to the horrific roads! I hate public transport :frown:

Posted from TSR Mobile
most business people take taxis ?
Reply 2
Virtually nobody working in central London drives to work. As you have seen, it's a nightmare on the roads, and many workplaces don't have parking.

It's an old city, which wasn't developed a) with cars in mind or b) to any organised plan, so there is no clear system of major through roads or a grid like some cities. As London grew, it enveloped smaller towns and villages which had their own road network and connections. Plus the government don't WANT to encourage car use in the city, it's congested enough already!
depends either you get either
a taxi
an uber car
a chauffeured luxury car
or the ceo's just get a helicopter
London is a city that was founded by the Romans, who strangely enough had yet to invent cars. The layout of central London has barely changed since the Great Fire of London in 1666, and strangely enough they too had yet to invent cars.

I work in London, and I don't know anyone (yes, literally no one in my large workplace, including those who are very well paid) that drives to work, because
a) you'd never get there due to the congestion
b) the congestion charge is about £12 a day
c) there's no parking, either within the workplace or nearby