The Student Room Group

personal statments

hey guys,
im new to this so sorry if ive messed this up. i was just wondering if any of you folks have your personal statement handy as i started to write mine and its over 5 pages long, and they expect you to get it into half a page!!!!! its ridiculous. please help!!!

thanks, Mayflower.x.
Reply 1
Focus on the important bits like what you've learned from your work experience, your highest achievements etc (nothing about grades, they know about them) and don't harp on about extra-curricular stuff, just stick to the impressive things that will make your application stand out. Five pages! There must be loads you dont need. Re-draft! :wink:
Reply 2
thanks for getting back to me :smile: lets just say i go on a bit! if i get an interview i wont have a problem talking anyway :p: what are the important bits, what kind of thing did you put for your highest achievments? and whats going to make me stand out? i need my personal statment to work hard cos i dont think my grades are going to be quiet what i need!

Mayflower.x
Reply 3
haha...it will be hard for YOU to personally cut stuff out because it all feels so important. get someone else (probably a teacher...they will know about this whole process, what works, what doesn't) to ruthlessly, mercilessly remove any bit of info that isn't fundamentally necessary!

what you end up with will probably feel under-developed but it will honestly be fine!
Reply 4
yeah i think i will, thank you :smile: still i just dont understand how they can expect you to get everything into half a page! its craziness¬!!!!

awell i shall see what can be done.

thanks for the help :smile:

Mayflower.x
Reply 5