The Student Room Group

Personal Statement

Hey, today I showed a teacher at school my personal statement and one of the things she mentioned was that I should include details about the subjects I'm currently studying; that I should mention what skills I have developed from them.

I didn't really like the idea of that and was wondering what other people have done/will do.

Is it really necessary? (And yes, I know it's a personal statement, but still...)
Reply 1
I dedicated a whole paragraph to the skills I have developed from my AS levels. As I've studied "essay" subjects and I'm applying for Law I basically said that they have taught me powers of analysis and evaluation skills. In addition AS Level has taught me how to manage time effectively, etc, etc.

What subjects have you studied? It's probably a good idea to state that you've developed the key skills, ability to communicate articulately and confidently, time management, etc.
Reply 2
All my subjects are science based, so I can't really say that I've developed any analysis/evaluation skills from them. I just feel that if I wrote about them, I'd end up repeating myself and everything would sound too generic.

I've mentioned the ability to communicate/time management etc, just not through skills I've developed through my AS studies.
Reply 3
It might be a good idea to state something like; "The decision to study medicine has been obvious. I have always been intrigued by science and have thorughly enjoyed studying x,y and z at A-Level". But if you've covered the fact that you've developed the skills which are essential for university then I wouldn't worry. It's definitely not essential, just something which most people do. There's nothing wrong with originality as long as you've covered the main bits.
Reply 4
Yeah, I've mentioned that I enjoy subject x and then followed that up with specific details, but I haven't said something like "through my AS Chemistry studies I have learnt to bla bla bla".