The Student Room Group

Is emailing an old teacher weird?

I'm in my first year of university and when I was in year 11 I had this teacher that really helped me when I was an anxious wreck over exams. I never really got to thank them properly and I still feel guilty about it today. Do you think sending them a quick email them just to thank them would be weird?
I don't think it's weird! I'm sure an email from an ex-student thanking them would be the highlight of their day/week :smile:

My teachers in Sixth Form actively encouraged us to let them know how we're doing at Uni.

It'll only get weird if you start getting flirty 😂 But I doubt that's your intention.
Original post by Anonymous
I'm in my first year of university and when I was in year 11 I had this teacher that really helped me when I was an anxious wreck over exams. I never really got to thank them properly and I still feel guilty about it today. Do you think sending them a quick email them just to thank them would be weird?

Not weird at all. In fact, I'd go a step further to deliver a card. But that's just me. If you are going to email, play full-out!
Naruto.jpeg
Not at all! My teachers in sixth form love talking about the updates they get from past students
I don't think it is weird at all.
Ive just started uni and I stay in touch with my teacher. She helped me a lot throughout sixth form as I had anxiety etc. And I got her a gift when I left and i even asked if we could stay in touch and she agreed:smile:
It's hard not to stay in touch with someone whose made a positive impact on your life and has helped you to come out of your shell (that was my teacher anyways)
And I am honestly so grateful still.

So don't worry it's not weird at all-in fact you'll put a smile on her face so go ahead!
Reply 5
Thanks guys :smile:

I don't have their exact email so do you think it'll be okay if I just send it to the school's general email and ask them to forward it?
Thanks guys :smile: