The Student Room Group

To do the PGCE or not? Life after graduation!

I graduated last July with a First in French and Spanish, and straight after I got a CELTA certificate.
I enjoyed the CELTA training (although it was incredibly stressful) and the teaching I did in Spain during my ERASMUS year, and now I'm considering doing a PGCE Secondary in MFL.
It would give me the opportunity to use both of my languages every day, have a decent pension, learn and develop, meet interesting new people, earn a good salary, have a lot of holiday, teach in international schools (my partner is Italian so moving to Italy is definitely a strong option in the future) and of course, I'd be able to help and inspire the kids, to see that moment where a concept finally clicks, or to encourage interest in what I'm passionate about...

BUT...I have a lot of doubts, ranging from serious to probably quite trivial things. My biggest worry is about the workload. I want to be able to go home and work maybe just 3 hours more, and then stop until the next day, with weekends and holidays relatively free so that I can spend time with my partner, family, and do my hobbies. I'm quite terrified of aggressive kids and their parents yelling at me for things outside of my control and being constantly pressured by the higher ups, or of possible redundancy when there's a further decline in the amount of students who want to study languages. I'm also a bit anxious about having my public freedom restricted. I'm not one for clubbing or wearing 'revealing' clothing much, but it bothers me that if I want to do that, or even just act silly with my boyfriend in town, that I can't for fear of being spotted. And then of course there are all of the PGCE students or qualified teachers who are leaving the profession or being signed off sick...