The Student Room Group

Reapplying while in first year.

I've put this here as I doubt people will see it in the Natural Sciences thread.

This is just theoretical considering I haven't got the grades yet.

I've got an offer to study Biology at another university starting in October. I didn't apply to Cambridge last year, but got rejected from Oxford, mostly because, having taken up the course about 3 months late, I got a B in chemistry. I'd love to study Natural Sciences at Cambridge, so I was wondering, if I were to get AAA, how would reapplication while already at another university be looked upon?

I'm studying Biology, Chemistry and English Literature, and I'd want to do Biological.

Scroll to see replies

you don't do maths? lordy.

rebelliousjade
I'd love to study Natural Sciences at Cambridge

hence why you applied to oxford, clearly.

i don't see why they'd take you - if you're not good enough for oxford, why would you be good enough for cambridge? unless you're planning on becoming somehow better in the next 6 months? in this theoretical plan, the uni you're currently attending isn't exactly going to over the moon that you're planning on dropping out before entering. nor will the UK taxpayer. anyway, once you get to uni, you'll be too drunk to be able to do something as complex as apply to another university, plus you'll develop a crush on this guy who lives in your halls and has a really cute smile but you can't quite bring yourself to talk to him and he acts as if you don't exist.
Reply 2
cleverer_than_you