The Student Room Group

My collegue is the only one to truely value me and he’s leaving.

I just wanted to share my thoughts really without being seen as odd, if this is possible. Ive just been thinking about life in general. Ive female and have always been a very quiet, introverted type person. People have described me as nice, placid and very laid back.

I studied nursing and there was a lot of emphasis in being proactive etc on placements which i tried to be but couldnt match most others. I passed but the ones who scored highly seemed to be chatty and just have that natural outgoingness to them. Although I did receive positive comments some negative ones were ‘are you enjoying the placement, you are very quiet’. Some nurses told others that they couldnt imagine me managing a ward as Im so quiet’. I then got pulled u a few times for looking anxious in front of patients, even tho i felt normal.

I also got told that I thought too much and was asking questions i should already know. Some girls on my course called me (and others) a lot, it was clique of 3 girls who made fun. Eg i could speak/have my say in lectures without them looking at each other and smirking. It wasnt just me that noticed this. They caused a bit of trouble with another student and we had to have a class meeting with the head of the nursing course.

I remember something she said during this meeting she said ‘it seems we have a few strong personalities, which is good thats what we want in nursing. We dont want people who are laid back and dont care’. I was sat quietly listening, knowing that their behaviour was more than just a strong petsonality. Later on in the meeting sheshe looked at me and said ‘im not picking on you but you look as if you just dont care’ ‘are you ok’. I said ‘yea just taking everything in’.