The Student Room Group

really worried about getting a job

hi, I study QS at a rics accredited university number 6th in uk for my subject and 3rd in Scotland, I'm in my first year, my biggest fear is that I will graduate and never get a job ive met allot of people recently who work as uber drivers and delivery drivers with engineering degrees and im scared I will be in that position, Im just scared that im gonna spend 3 years of my life grinding to get this degree then never even get a job and just fail
Reply 1
Original post by denismith
hi, I study QS at a rics accredited university number 6th in uk for my subject and 3rd in Scotland, I'm in my first year, my biggest fear is that I will graduate and never get a job ive met allot of people recently who work as uber drivers and delivery drivers with engineering degrees and im scared I will be in that position, Im just scared that im gonna spend 3 years of my life grinding to get this degree then never even get a job and just fail

I understand your concerns about finding a job after graduating with a QS degree. It's perfectly normal to feel anxious about your future career prospects, especially when you've heard such stories. However, I want to assure you that there is a strong demand for QS's and QS graduates.

Start networking now. If you can, attend industry events, connect with other professionals on LinkedIn, start reaching out to people in the field.

I would suggest working on your CV, send out covering letters to prospective employers explaining that you are currently studying. I would aim for PQS consultancies like Faithful+Gould, Gleeds etc and Tier 1 Main Contractors, Skanska, ISG, NG Bailey, Wates etc, these companies are often looking for talented QS graduates, and they'll offer good salaries and career progression opportunities.