The Student Room Group

Masters in top-tier universities with a 2.2 and a Postgraduate Diploma

Hi everyone,

I am a former student of the University of London International Programmes, having studied the BSc Economics and Management at an institution in Malaysia. The academic direction for this programme is from the LSE.

Unfortunately, due to extenuating circumstances, I did not achieve my full potential and ended up graduating with a high borderline 2.2 (I was 0.4 marks away from a 2.1).

Anyway, I would like to do my Masters in Economics and Finance in universities such as LSE and King's. Although I graduated with a 2.2, my marks for Macroeconomics and Microeconomics were a 1.1 and 2.1, respectively. Since I do not meet the entry requirements for these universities, I am looking to do a Postgraduate Diploma in Economic Policy (which consists of Economics and Finance modules) from SOAS, University of London to hopefully get a distinction and give myself a better chance of getting into these universities. This course is done entirely by distance learning.

My question is: Is there anyone here who has done something similar before? Or does anyone know if it gives me a better chance of applying to top universities in the UK? Provided that I get a distinction, of course. I have emailed the programme directors for the course at LSE and King's, and I am still waiting for a reply. Looking forward to hearing some valuable inputs, they are greatly appreciated. Thank you.
(edited 2 years ago)
Reply 1