The Student Room Group

OCR GCE Computer Science NEA Game (My advice, and tips)

Greetings, I am a current year 13 student who has completed their entire project within a week of spending 10-12 hours a day and on track for a A/B on the project. AMA.

As the title states I did my project on a game, more specifically a 2D platformer similar to games like Mario, and Mercenary Kings. I have also implemented databases and a website for more complex features. My biggest advice to any new CS student or someone putting off the work, "Just Do It." If you are however already in a similar position as I was in, do these simple things. If you only have 1 final product and did not do prototypes or kept track of your devlog then create tests which you can easily prove by breaking down your current solution and reverse engineering it a prototype. The main goal of the devlog is selling a story, pretend you are creating a hero's story where you overcame the challenges of xyz. Your problems do not even have to be real, you can make them up. The main point is to show that you tried your best, and you can write about how you would improve it in the evaluation. However if you do this approach for the development seciton you will not be able to get the highest mark band and be limited to 20/25 marks at most, but that is still high. However this will greatly reduce the amount of work needed and the few marks difference for the ungodly hours needed is not worth it. Testing for development should focus on key componenets and have some variety there is no "cheating" this section, it sucks. This section will be the longest and require lots of annotation expect to spend a couple of full day working on this. Make sure you have clearly commented and over comment your code with its purpose.