The Student Room Group

P.E in school, how did it make you feel?

Hey guys,

I'm doing a masters and I'm researching people's experiences with P.E in school - I know many of us hated it! Did you try and get out of it with excuses? How did it make you feel? I'd love to hear about your experiences. Please feel free to DM if you'd prefer to chat in confidence :smile:
Well in one year around 80 odd girls were split into 4 groups. 3 were around like 24/25 girls but then you had a group with only 3 :dontknow:

I was in that group of 3, we followed a different P.E plan than the rest of the year. Whilst they did like Netball we would be running on a treadmill or playing 'tennis' with those plastic rackets you get in primary school lol. It made me really self conscious, they never explained why we were isolated. To be fair, I was a overweight kid (70kg 168 cm) but I was definitely not obese or the biggest in my year group. It ended up giving me bulimia and a hatred for treadmills:colonhash:.

Never tried to get out of it as you would need a signed note from a parent, many in my school faked it but i was too scared of authority to try it.
I wanted to like it - I really like sport. I'm just crap at it. So it was one long series of disappointments, because almost everything we did was the sort of sport where people who are good at it spend all the time with the ball and people who aren't end up either running meaninglessly up and down or standing in the corner bored out of their minds.

The only sport I actually liked in PE was cross country, because although I was rubbish at that too, I was at least doing something and challenging myself. But we only ever did it once a year so the staff could pick the team for the county championship.

Oh, and swimming (at which I was also rubbish, definite theme here). Again, it was set up so I could push myself physically at my level, and I don't think we did it any more once we were older than about 12.