The Student Room Group

Optom graduate, no pre reg, how do I get back into optom

Id appreciate any advice. A bit of background, I graduated first class honours in Optometry a few years back but because of things going on at the time, didn’t manage to complete the pre reg. My pre reg deadline has just passed. What would be the steps for me to be able to return to optometry? Would I have to redo 3 years at uni again or is just a year top up? Thanks for any advice.
Original post by Meganxhb
Id appreciate any advice. A bit of background, I graduated first class honours in Optometry a few years back but because of things going on at the time, didn’t manage to complete the pre reg. My pre reg deadline has just passed. What would be the steps for me to be able to return to optometry? Would I have to redo 3 years at uni again or is just a year top up? Thanks for any advice.

I think you're in a unique situation and I don't know much about it, but I know that you roughly have 2 years to try and secure a pre-reg position after completing your degree. If you don't secure a pre-reg within 2 years the competencies you've earned run out. I think you will probably have to go back to university and potentially repeat the final year competencies so that you have up-to-date competencies to apply for a pre-reg position.

I hope this helps.

I support a group of pre-reg students by asking newly qualified optoms to do talks so if this is something you'd be interested in let me know :smile:
Reply 2
Original post by OptomStudent4452
I think you're in a unique situation and I don't know much about it, but I know that you roughly have 2 years to try and secure a pre-reg position after completing your degree. If you don't secure a pre-reg within 2 years the competencies you've earned run out. I think you will probably have to go back to university and potentially repeat the final year competencies so that you have up-to-date competencies to apply for a pre-reg position.

I hope this helps.