The Student Room Group

manual or automatic?

hey guys. i’ve been learning to drive in a manual for a couple months now, one 2 hour lesson per week.

i’m a pretty anxious person and driving does not help. i make mistakes all the time and i know that’s normal for a learner, but i’m on my 8th lesson and still struggle with pulling away, gear changes, etc. it’s like my brain doesn’t coordinate with my body and i find it so difficult needing to concentrate on the road AND what my hands and feet are doing.

i bought an old car for £1900 near the start of my lessons so i could get some extra practice in, but i mess up regardless of who is in the car with me. my parents have an automatic and i’ve been considering getting lessons, but i’m 18 and don’t have much money saved after buying the car, and i’m afraid i’ll make a loss if i try to sell it.

would it be worth switching to automatic lessons? i just want to get on the road. thanks.
Original post by m0on4ge_d4ydreAm
hey guys. i’ve been learning to drive in a manual for a couple months now, one 2 hour lesson per week.

i’m a pretty anxious person and driving does not help. i make mistakes all the time and i know that’s normal for a learner, but i’m on my 8th lesson and still struggle with pulling away, gear changes, etc. it’s like my brain doesn’t coordinate with my body and i find it so difficult needing to concentrate on the road AND what my hands and feet are doing.

i bought an old car for £1900 near the start of my lessons so i could get some extra practice in, but i mess up regardless of who is in the car with me. my parents have an automatic and i’ve been considering getting lessons, but i’m 18 and don’t have much money saved after buying the car, and i’m afraid i’ll make a loss if i try to sell it.

would it be worth switching to automatic lessons? i just want to get on the road. thanks.