The Student Room Group

Tuition loan

Hi, I just completed 2 years of Open University from a course officially considered part-time but which in effect I studied at full time pace. SLC were kind enough to pay a part-time loan for that one course. I have now been offered a full time placement in Reading University doing a 4 year course in a similar field (modern languages). I have applied to SLC for both tuition fee and maintenance loan but I have just come across information that under current regulations i may not be able to apply for a tuition fee loan if I decide to study another qualification at the same level. My Open University course was a BA honours degree and my new course in Readin is just a BA so probably not on the exact same level? Could you please advise me if I do have a chance of getting both tuition fee loan and maintenance loan for all years of my new course?
Were you awarded a qualification from OU?
Reply 2
I actually didn't know it was an option until a few days ago and then I applied for DipHe but didn't write that in my slc application because at that time I didn't know about that option....
Original post by denitsa64
I actually didn't know it was an option until a few days ago and then I applied for DipHe but didn't write that in my slc application because at that time I didn't know about that option....

Hi there,

If you do not hold an equal level qualification or higher, you will be eligible to receive funding for a new eligible full time course. This includes the Tuition Fee Loan and Maintenance Loan.

Thanks, Clare

As above - a DipHE isn't an ELQ to a BA degree

However if you have 2 years "part time" previous study from OU that resulted in a qualification then that will use up 2 years of your previous study for full time funding.
So no tuition fee loan for year 1 of a new full time degree.
Reply 5
Original post by PQ
As above - a DipHE isn't an ELQ to a BA degree