The Student Room Group

When can I start to apply for vacation schemes and trainee contracts for law?

Hello. I just started my first-week studying law with business at UWE. I want to understand when should I start applying for vacation schemes and trainee contracts. Im I too early or just on time? I want to guarantee myself a spot for a vaccination scheme in the UAE, So im making sure to apply in advance. Also if a training contract is set to 2026 does that mean the year i finish my UD or the year i finish my SQE? Any help is very much appreciated.
Reply 1
I'm a non-law student but I think I understand the law process because I've been researching the process for over a year now. Most law firms ask law students to apply in their penultimate/ final year of uni (ie: 2&3 of a 3 year course or 3&4 of a 4 year course), as well as whilst studying for the SQEs for vac schemes and/ or TCs. However, a lot of firms have a 1st year programme to get involved in, so in completing one of these, you would have a greater chance of getting an acceptance next year as you have connections and networks. An example would be the A&O First Scheme (https://www.aograduate.com/work-experience). My recommendation is to research firms using the Chambers Student Guide (https://www.chambersstudent.co.uk/guides), make a list of about 10, and see what opportunities they have to offer for first years, and what the requirement is for when you're ready to apply for the real thing. Doing virtual work experience with Forage for some of these firms are important too. Also if it's applicable to you, look into various social mobility organisations such as Aspiring Solicitors or Bright Network as they often hold a lot of opportunities. But most importantly, focus on your studies - a law firm won't accept you if you got a 2:2 because you were too busy applying for vacation schemes in the wrong year. Hope this helps!