The Student Room Group

Confused about uni for employability

I am an international student coming to the uk in fall 24 to study masters in advanced computer science. I have 12 offers but the ones I'm seriously considering are University of Manchester, University of Liverpool, University of Nottingham and Qmul. I will save about 15k if i pick liverpool over the other two. 1. Is paying close to 50k overall (for Manchester or qmul) worth it? ( Liverpool will be about 35k overall) 2. Will it lead to better job prospects than if i were to go to Liverpool. 3. How much do employers care about uni rankings and prestige since Manchester is way higher ranked and prestigious. I don't mind paying extra if it leads to substantially better career outcomes. Looking desparately for advice since I need to respond to my offers. Also have an offer from Kcl but that's completely unaffordable. How much does faang and big tech companies care about uni rankings. Will I be fine I go to any rg.
Original post by Naviisia
I am an international student coming to the uk in fall 24 to study masters in advanced computer science. I have 12 offers but the ones I'm seriously considering are University of Manchester, University of Liverpool, University of Nottingham and Qmul. I will save about 15k if i pick liverpool over the other two. 1. Is paying close to 50k overall (for Manchester or qmul) worth it? ( Liverpool will be about 35k overall) 2. Will it lead to better job prospects than if i were to go to Liverpool. 3. How much do employers care about uni rankings and prestige since Manchester is way higher ranked and prestigious. I don't mind paying extra if it leads to substantially better career outcomes. Looking desparately for advice since I need to respond to my offers. Also have an offer from Kcl but that's completely unaffordable. How much does faang and big tech companies care about uni rankings. Will I be fine I go to any rg.