The Student Room Group

Does the ranking of my undergraduate university matter for graduate scholarships?

Hi,

I am a Open University student and I want to pursue a master's at Oxford after I graduate. The OU is well respected but not prestigious.

I know that there are very competitive scholarships available that cover the full price of graduate studies, like Ertegun and Clarendon. I've seen people discuss how extra-curriculars can help in the application, but it seems that most people who get accepted studied at Oxford previously or at another high ranking university elsewhere in the world.

Would being an OU graduate hurt my chances? Will they take the prestige and ranking of the university into consideration when assessing my application?
I would say no. Obviously, we can only speculate, but it doesn't make sense for them to value the undergrad university reputation an awful lot. What matters A LOT more is what you made out of your undergrad studies, i.e. how well your referees know and support you, research internships, active interest by auditing external courses, breadth/depth of knowledge in a specific field, etc. People who get full price scholarships aren't people who just happened to go to a good university and get good grades, they're the folks who stand out by doing some (or all) of the things that I listed.

Now, it could be argued that some of these things are only available at prestiguous universities (e.g. more prestigious universities might have more plentiful research opportunities?), but I don't think it plays a big role. Your character and passion for academia is a much more important factor than what number is next to your university name on a ranked list.