The Student Room Group

Advice wanted for a mature student wanting to study Pharmacy MPharm.

Hello,

I want to get advice about potential entry routes into pharmacy.

I'm a mature student and haven't studied chemistry since I was at school in 2001.
I have a degree (2.1 Hons) however its not in a related area.

Am aware of different entry routes including Foundation Degree courses, Foundation/Access courses and re sitting A Levels.

I wanted to get advice from other students in a similar position. What courses and universities would you recommend and suggest?

Any advice/suggestions welcomed! Thank you :smile:
Reply 1
I can give you my experience.

I'm 25, undertook an Access to Science course in 2010/11 and got a place on the Brighton MPharm. My offer was 40/60 distinctions.

I can't speak for any other universities as my other offers were for pharmacology and biomedicinal chemistry (wasn't sure what I wanted to do when I applied) but can vouch that Brighton definitely do accept many Access students.

Hope this helps!
Reply 2
I'm not sure what you want to know really but I'm currently doing an access course and have four offers to study pharmacy (look in my signature).

There isn't a university close to me that offers the foundation year so it wasn't an option for me (can't move, have family) but I feel the access course has been a really great introduction to education.

If you choose the access route research the courses very thoroughly. Not all access courses are the same and not all will cover enough chemistry to satisfy the universities. Also email the universities you want to apply to and find out exactly what they require/suggest. In my experience some of the universities were very welcoming of mature students with alternative qualifications and some weren't, it is important to consider this when you choose your five.
Like ½+½ and Jami74 I took an access course.