The Student Room Group
University of Sussex
University of Sussex
Brighton

Leeds vs Sussex

Received offers for Psychology from Leeds, Exeter, Sussex, Birmingham and Loughborough, so happy!
Leeds(Psychology) or Sussex(Psychology with American Studies) is looking like my firm (both want AAB). I'm so stuck between the two as they both offer great things. They both offer a year abroad to America which is why they are my top choices.
As a student i work hard but i'm also very sociable and student life is an important factor for me. Leeds has one of the best student unions in the country which would really help me adapt and settle in to student life. However, it is 87% student satisfaction for Psychology, ranked 16th in Psychology (22nd/2013) compared to Sussex which is 90% student satisfaction and ranked 13th (8th/2013) for Psychology.
However, Leeds is a Russell group university and did improve compared to Sussex which is not Russell group and decreased but is still higher than Leeds in the league tables.

I love the fact Sussex offers psychology with american studies as it offers me something new and interesting to engage with as i have always been passionate about America as a topic and would love to live there in the future. Sussex is right by Brighton which i love, the campus is small which is great as it has the communal feel but is a negative as everyone knows everyone.
However, Sussex is not a Russell Group so is not as heavily funded for student union events and research as much as Leeds. However, Leeds offers free gym membership and has better eye candy. These little details just show how torn i am between the two.
I would appreciate your thoughts/advice if you're in the same predicament as me and especially if you're current/previous students at either universities. All replies are welcomed!
Reply 1
you posted this in sussex forums, they will be biased.

anyway go with leeds. good uni and has a great night life. oh and the americans are **** anyway