The Student Room Group

[UK MEng] UK Master of Engineering in the US

Hi,

I study Mechanical Engineering at one of the British universities.
I am studying towards a Master of Engineering (UK MEng) and in the future I would like to work in the United States.
However, I read on Wikipedia that
The UK MEng (undergraduate degree) is not recognized in Canada, USA, India or Europe as a true masters degree since a masters degree in these countries takes a further 1–2 years after a 4 year Bachelors degree. A UK MSc attained as a degree separate from the bachelor degree is recognized as a true Masters degree.

Does anyone have any experience regarding this issue? Or is it better to get a UK BEng and then a UK MSci?

Thanks in advance,

Phi
Reply 1
Original post by PhiPhiPhi
Hi,

I study Mechanical Engineering at one of the British universities.
I am studying towards a Master of Engineering (UK MEng) and in the future I would like to work in the United States.
However, I read on Wikipedia that
The UK MEng (undergraduate degree) is not recognized in Canada, USA, India or Europe as a true masters degree since a masters degree in these countries takes a further 1–2 years after a 4 year Bachelors degree. A UK MSc attained as a degree separate from the bachelor degree is recognized as a true Masters degree.

Does anyone have any experience regarding this issue? Or is it better to get a UK BEng and then a UK MSci?

Thanks in advance,

Phi

Firstly can I ask what University the degree is from?
Reply 2
Original post by 391iady
Firstly can I ask what University the degree is from?

University of Nottingham
It's true that a UK MEng isn't generally recognised as a full masters degree outside of the country, but in most of those countries a masters degree isn't really something that employers place much premium on anyway.
Reply 4
Original post by Smack