The Student Room Group

Vacation Scheme- Lots of Questions

Hi all,

I'm a first year law student and since revision for exams are really boring I'm starting to look at vacation schemes (I know it's still quite early but well). I have quite a few questions and I would be grateful if anyone can answer them! THANKS :biggrin::biggrin:

- Do firms ask for you first year grades/ unit grades?
- Do I need a 2:1 to get in most decent firms for vacation scheme?
- How many firms should I apply to? Is it like UCAS where we apply 1 dream 2 normal 1 safety etc.?
- Should I leave some firms to apply for training contract in the future?
- Is it possible to rank firms in tiers?
- What should I read in preparation for my application?
- What firms do you like and why?
- Do you have any general tips of how to pick firms to apply for?

Thank you so much! I'm such a newbie to this and would be so happy if anyone can answer my questions! thank you <3
Original post by xoxoyayz
Hi all,

I'm a first year law student and since revision for exams are really boring I'm starting to look at vacation schemes (I know it's still quite early but well). I have quite a few questions and I would be grateful if anyone can answer them! THANKS :biggrin::biggrin:

- How many firms should I apply to? Is it like UCAS where we apply 1 dream 2 normal 1 safety etc.?

Thank you so much! I'm such a newbie to this and would be so happy if anyone can answer my questions! thank you <3

So I'm not sure I know all the answers but here is my best
1) Yes
2) Yes, but I know some people who have managed with 2.2s
3) It isn't really like UCAS, non are easy, but some are harder than others. People normally apply for about 10 (though I don't really know)
4) Not sure, some will say you can't re apply, but some say you can., If you really like a firm just go for it.