The Student Room Group

should I be increasing my calories?

I've been doing strengthening exercises at the gym for the last four months but not really seen an increase in muscle tone. If I want to gain muscle but lose a bit of fat from my waist/stomach area should I increase my calories?
I tend to gain weight first round my middle, so I'm worried if I up my calories instead of building muscle, I will get a fat stomach. I currently eat about 2000 calories per day, sometimes a bit more. I am 5 foot 4 and weigh 7 stone 4.
It's mainly my bum and thighs that I want to tone as I have skinny legs with not a lot of definition.
I would appreciate any advice.

Scroll to see replies

What were the "strengthening" exercises? I'm assuming not actually lifting weights?
Generally what you're trying to wouldn't be possible natural however as you're newer to lifting then you need to focus on the compound exercises and eat just above maintenance. As you're not noticing any difference then I'd suggest raising calories by 200 and see how that goes but 2200 should be fine for your height. What're your macros?

Squats will be your main friend here.
Original post by keturah
I've been doing strengthening exercises at the gym for the last four months but not really seen an increase in muscle tone. If I want to gain muscle but lose a bit of fat from my waist/stomach area should I increase my calories?
I tend to gain weight first round my middle, so I'm worried if I up my calories instead of building muscle, I will get a fat stomach. I currently eat about 2000 calories per day, sometimes a bit more. I am 5 foot 4 and weigh 7 stone 4.
It's mainly my bum and thighs that I want to tone as I have skinny legs with not a lot of definition.

Gaining muscle and losing fat at the same time is often difficult.