The Student Room Group

Which engineering would be my best option

I want to take an engineering in uni, I am currently a year 11 student but am choosing my a levels. I have decided on further maths, maths, physics and chemistry. I am willing to change chemistry to something else as I have until friday to hand in my application. I have narrowed it down to 4 types

Chemical engineering
Software engineering
Mechanial engineering
Civil engineering

Could you tell me the advantages/disadvantages of both and how likely i'll be able to find a job.
Heads up, Software engineering isn't quite how it sounds as far as I am aware, or at least that is how it was for the particular course I looked at. It involved mostly coding/prgramming and a lot less maths than CompSci.

If you want a course with rigorous maths in it (which is standard for an engineering course) as well as programming, then Electronic and/or Electrical is a better option, or even CompSci.
Reply 2
Those options look excellent for engineering and you can, of course, do a general engineering degree if you're still undecided a couple of years down the line.

I don't see taking the 4 subjects you've picked right now will shut any doors for you engineering wise. Given you're looking at FM you must be getting good grades and aiming for higher unis (at this point which ones specifically isn't relevant)? If so Maths and Physics are a must and FM is a distinct advantage. What you do need to bear in mind is that if you go off the idea of an engineering degree or maths degree some other courses might not accept FM as a third subject.

What other subjects might be in the mix for you if not Chemistry?
Probably compsci, economics or history
Reply 4
I think you need to Google around (or any other search engine :smile:) each type of engineering to see what appeals. There's plenty out there on the net. Unistats might be a useful place to start

http://unistats.direct.gov.uk/