The Student Room Group

Speaking to an University about rejecting my current confirmed place, then reapplying

Hello,

I am a gap year student, last year I narrowly missed my first choice offer (A*AA) at Durham by 2 UMS but still a grade as I received AAAA, and so I unfortunately I was not accepted. Automatically I was accepted on my second choice for deferred entry.

This year, I've decided to make use of my gap year and reapply to Durham, but this means rejecting my place at my second choice first. However, it's still very much my second choice, and I'm scared when I reapply I don't recieve offers from both.

I've been told by my school that I need to speak with my second choice first, to let them know of this update and withdraw my place with them. But how should I explain my situation? Should I tell them the truth, that I'm reapplying to my first choice again, and they are just my second choice?

My friend in a similar position with Bristol let them know that he was unsure about his course and would reevaluate in his gap year, he reapplied for the same course and he was accepted again. However, because unfortunately I couldn't decide whether to reapply for a couple of months, I'll be rejecting my placee and reapplying back to them pretty much a week after.

Any advice, help? :frown: I'm terrified to speak to them and I need to do so urgently, it would really help me if I hd a guideline to go on :smile:

Thanks!