The Student Room Group

Teaching PE with Biology PCGE??????

Hi Guys,

I'm a final year student studying Applied Sport Science and was just wondering has anyone heard of somebody doing a Biology PCGE (Yes the bursary is very attractive) and then following on to teach PE instead of doing a PE PCGE??

I have operated my own Personal training and fitness coaching business for a number of years, so in terms of coaching etc, that would not be an issue.

any thoughts?
Original post by eamonkearneypt
Hi Guys,

I'm a final year student studying Applied Sport Science and was just wondering has anyone heard of somebody doing a Biology PCGE (Yes the bursary is very attractive) and then following on to teach PE instead of doing a PE PCGE??

I have operated my own Personal training and fitness coaching business for a number of years, so in terms of coaching etc, that would not be an issue.

any thoughts?
I might be wrong, but I think if you were to do a Biology PGCE, you would be hired as a Biology teacher and would be expected to teach Biology. If you want to teach PE, you need to do a PE PGCE. It almost sounds like you want to do the Biology one simply because of the bursary. That's not a very good reason.
Original post by eamonkearneypt

PE is not a shortage subject (we typically get over 100 decent applications for a PE post) so I would imagine you would find it pretty difficult to secure a PE teaching position if you train to teach Biology.
Original post by Veggiechic6
I might be wrong, but I think if you were to do a Biology PGCE, you would be hired as a Biology teacher and would be expected to teach Biology. If you want to teach PE, you need to do a PE PGCE. It almost sounds like you want to do the Biology one simply because of the bursary. That's not a very good reason.