The Student Room Group

5 AS Levels

Hi,
I'm currently a Year 11 student and hoping to study engineering in the future, and I have the opportunity to study 5 AS levels. I am definately going to do physics, maths, further maths and chemistry, and am considering doing geography. Knowing that they look for a wide range of subjects, I assume that geography would be of certain value amongst US unis as then I would have a wider range of subjects. However, if they don't really care about it then I would probably just do 4 and have an easier workload, as well as having more time to do extracurricular activities. My question is: Is it worth me taking AS geography and therefore doing 5 AS levels?
Reply 1
Dont take 5 AS Levels just to show that you have a wide range of skills. Do geography because you enjoy it and would like the challenge (believe me it is a huge challenge) of studying 5 subjects that you are truly interested in. Since you're certain on engineering as a degree, then 5 AS levels arent really necessary, the only major advantage that 5 has over 4 is that it keeps one's options open. So if you like geography, then take it, see how it goes, but if you want to do it just for the sake of it, then dont.
Reply 2
I take 5 A-levels and have continued them all to A2, i have a much busier timetable than all my friends but i enjoy all of my subjects so it doesnt particularly bother me. Mine are bio,chem, maths, f.maths and history. Its obviously more work but certainly not impossible. You're right uni's wont take them all into consideration so as long as you think taking more wont jeopardise the grades you need then id say consider it.
Reply 3
hey, geography is really easy so go for it
the workload is light, the exams aren't that hard
I was 2 ums marks off 300 last year and i didnt pay attention all year!
Reply 4