The Student Room Group

Ask an Admissions Tutor - International Applicants (Sept. 8-15)

Hello everyone and welcome to the first thread using the official Cambridge University TSR account! This account will be used by different faculty and staff at Cambridge to run threads themed on a particular topic. Our first thread will be aimed at answering questions from international students looking to make an application to study at Cambridge.

For the next week the account is being managed by me, Michael Sutherland, the Admissions Tutor of Corpus Christi College. In addition to my admissions work I’m a quantum physicist at the Cavendish laboratory and a member of the international interview team that travels to Singapore and in past years Pakistan.

So, if you’re studying in the EU or overseas, or are based in the UK but not eligible for home fee status then please post your questions and I’ll do my best to answer them during the next week.

Scroll to see replies

Hello and thanks for making this thread! :smile:
What does Cambridge think of the International A levels? Are applicants treated the same as the UK students who have the normal A levels (ie put in the A-E quintiles) or are they handled separately (Like with the IB,Highers etc applicants) because the IAL exams are linear?
Original post by StrawbAri
Hello and thanks for making this thread! :smile:
What does Cambridge think of the International A levels? Are applicants treated the same as the UK students who have the normal A levels (ie put in the A-E quintiles) or are they handled separately (Like with the IB,Highers etc applicants) because the IAL exams are linear?

Hi StrawAri, thanks for your question! International A-levels are perfectly good preparation for study at Cambridge, and in many ways are similar to the A-levels UK students sit.