The Student Room Group

Don’t know what to do with my life

Hi. So I’m currently studying BTEC Applied Science Level 3 and I have no idea what course to study at university. I need to get my personal statement done in under a month. I don’t even know if I like science anymore and I have done so much research into all the degrees and I feel like nothing interests me. Has anyone been in a similar situation to me?

Scroll to see replies

Original post by Student guest
Hi. So I’m currently studying BTEC Applied Science Level 3 and I have no idea what course to study at university. I need to get my personal statement done in under a month. I don’t even know if I like science anymore and I have done so much research into all the degrees and I feel like nothing interests me. Has anyone been in a similar situation to me?

Try going to university open days and speaking to students and staff from different courses. Some even do small taster sessions. You could always take a year out to figure everything out if need be
Original post by chelseadagg3r
Try going to university open days and speaking to students and staff from different courses. Some even do small taster sessions. You could always take a year out to figure everything out if need be

I went to uni open days but I didn’t have the courage to speak to the staff as I feel low by saying I study a btec. Also, I’ve already wasted a year as I did A levels but didn’t go well.
I went to uni open days but I didn’t have the courage to speak to the staff as I feel low by saying I study a btec. Also, I’ve already wasted a year as I did A levels but didn’t go well.

Don't, I did one and so did plenty of others. There's nothing low about it. They'll know what you studied when you apply anyway, and you won't be the only one there who is doing/has done a btec

Why do you feel low?

Plenty of people take BTECs as their pre-university qualification and progress very well at university. You shouldn't feel ashamed at all.