The Student Room Group

Cambridge Demystified - Psychological and Behaviourial Sciences (PBS)

By Books+Lemonade

Scroll to see replies

Reply 1
Thank you @Oxford Mum for allowing me to join the lovely Cambridge Demystified!

Introduction

I am an international student from Southeast Asia, and I hold an offer for PBS. I take my region’s local public exam so it’s very different from A-levels/IB. I studied in a high-performing state school, but as applying to Oxbridge was not popular in my school, school support during my Cambridge application journey was scarce.

1. Why did you want to study your subject?

I mean, admit it. Deep down, you want to know what everyone else is thinking. You can probably say that my interest in Psychology started as being nosy. Especially teenagers, who are starting to become quite self-conscious and always care about what other people think of them. It’s hard to pinpoint the exact moment that made me like Psychology, and such a moment doesn’t really exist, so I think it’s more like a gradual process. I reckon I had the fascination with ‘mind-reading’ (especially after reading about a certain Edward), and it slowly morphed into a general interest in people’s emotions, behaviour and thoughts. I found myself always asking ‘Why would he/she/they do that?’ Outside the individual level, on a social/global level, I also find things like Game Theory very interesting, especially in messy times like this.

2. Why Cambridge?