The Student Room Group

Advice for starting year 11

Hi there, I’m a year 10 student going into year 11 in September. Is there anyone here that can give me some advice for year 11? Thanks <3333
Hi! Unfortunately there probably isn’t much advice I can give you that you haven’t already heard, but I’ll go ahead anyway.

In the next few weeks do try and relax, but it would be helpful to go over and practice anything you struggled with in year ten mocks if you haven’t done that yet, this should give you a good mindset going into year 11!

Once you start year 11, the main thing is to revise early and consistently. You’ve got mocks at the end of the autumn term - they aren’t anything to worry about, but they are the perfect opportunity to solidify everything you know so far. Study little and often, keep up with classwork, and if you haven’t done so yet follow my best revision tip:

Make your own set of notes using the specification. Honestly, I only started doing this right before final exams and I wish I’d done so earlier. Even the best teacher misses some stuff out, and putting headings directly from the spec in your notes means how you revise mirrors how it will be assessed. Use the spec to find out what exactly you need to know, then bring together all your resources (textbooks, class notes and revision guides) to write out what you need to know. Do this and exam period will be so much easier, I promise!

Most importantly, figure out what works for you. There are so many study resources out there and everyone has different opinions, but the best revision is what gets facts into head and makes sure you go into your exam prepared for anything the examiners throw at you. You lucky thing have the time to try everything and figure that out!