The Student Room Group

I don't need sleep, I need answers - apprentice GYG

So this is not your usual GYG blog.

*insert "I'm not like other girls quote"* /s

I'm a degree apprentice studying Manufacturing Engineering and I'm currently in my second year out of four. I work on site four days a week and spend one ridiculously long day on uni work.

I am a mostly private person and I have some concerns about being potentially identified based on what I post here so I will decide later on how far I'm willing to go. However, I did think that this would be a good idea not only because it might motivate me to do better but also to give potential future apprentices the idea of what it's like (since i didn't have that privilege).

I am planning to potentially make this a space not only about my uni struggles but also my competence development to do with my job (learning about stuff I don't need for the degree but could use for work)

First year units and summary:

Spoiler

The units I'm doing this year are:

Spoiler

So far I had to turn in an assignment for:

Spoiler

What I need to focus on now:

Spoiler

First update - 18/12/22

Spoiler

Second update - 26/12/22

Spoiler

Third update - 02/01/23

Spoiler

Fourth update - 09/01/23

Spoiler

Fifth update - 20/01/23

Spoiler

Sixth update - 29/03/23

Spoiler

(edited 1 year ago)

Scroll to see replies

Reply 1
I submitted my assignment.

I'm really happy with my references to specific legislations, I think I did a great job in clarifying which bits of the law I think are relevant to the case study. What I think I should have done better is weighing the importance of each question based on marks and making the length of my response rely on that.

I should make a start on my project - I've had the tools delivered about two weeks ago but didn't have the chance to do anything yet because I'm prioritizing other projects.

Over the holidays I will only need to look at CAD, other than that it's just whatever interests me.
Reply 2