The Student Room Group

is it worth going to jobcentre?

Hi guys,

need some advice on the jobcentre. I graduated from uni last year and have found it difficult finding any stable full time employment, I've applied to lots of jobs, been to many interviews, tailored CV etc.

My work experience isn't great, I have had a serious health issue for past few years that knocked my confidence and stopped me working so was only to casual part time work and graduating uni was a massive achievement in itself for me.

Is it worth me going to the job centre? Do they help people find entry level/ graduate friendly roles and guide them? I have no intention of claiming JSA so will they still help me find work even if not claiming benefits?

thanks
why won't you claim JSA? It builds up NI credits which you will need for a state pension when you retire
Reply 2
I am aware that JSA helps build NI credits but my main objective is to find stable employment and JSA won't help me solve that and my question is whether or not the jobcentre will genuinely help me with that?
Original post by Amiit10
I am aware that JSA helps build NI credits but my main objective is to find stable employment and JSA won't help me solve that and my question is whether or not the jobcentre will genuinely help me with that?

You still get money though until you find a job (as well as the other stuff).
JSA isnt going to hinder you getting a job or anything.

With regards to the job centre, go and give them a try. See what they can do. The worst they can say is no. They might actually be quite useful.
Original post by Amiit10