The Student Room Group

Worried about university grades

Hi! I’m a first year student studying theology. I’m pretty sure that I’ll want to do a postgraduate degree after my undergrad, but I’m worried I’ve already messed up my grades significantly. In all of my essay-based modules I have been achieving 70+, which I’m really happy with, however in Latin I’m pretty sure I’m going to fail the module. If I re-sit it my grade will be capped at 40 and I’ll probably end up with a low 2:1 overall at best. How much will this impact me when applying for masters degrees, particularly at top universities?
Thanks
Original post by rosacherry
Hi! I’m a first year student studying theology. I’m pretty sure that I’ll want to do a postgraduate degree after my undergrad, but I’m worried I’ve already messed up my grades significantly. In all of my essay-based modules I have been achieving 70+, which I’m really happy with, however in Latin I’m pretty sure I’m going to fail the module. If I re-sit it my grade will be capped at 40 and I’ll probably end up with a low 2:1 overall at best. How much will this impact me when applying for masters degrees, particularly at top universities?
Thanks

Hi @rosacherry,

The majority of universities use a weighted average of your second and third year grades to give your final degree classification, discounting first year marks altogether (although you do still have to pass your first year, obviously). However, different universities do calculate your final degree grade in different ways. Some programmes do take first year grades into account so it's worth double-checking how exactly your final degree classification will be calculated.

Most universities publish details of how they calculate final degree grades on their website but, if you're unsure, the Student Services/Support team and/or your academic mentor/personal tutor should be able to advise you on this.