The Student Room Group

IBDP Certification route or homeschooling: Which should I do?

Hello guys,

I am a current student in year 12 who is looking for some advice. I was wondering if anyone could provide some clarity on homeschooling routes and platforms, finance options, what happens if you had extra time during GCSE's when you went to school and if that can apply to homeschooler's. Oh and advice on how I can talk to the family about this stuff would also be great. I have included details of my situation below. Many thanks! :smile:

I have been accepted into a prestigious grammar school at the start of the year to complete the international baccalaureate diploma programme but am currently struggling quite a bit. The programme itself is very full on compared to A-levels, having to study English, Maths, A language and a science along with optional humanities/art subjects. Their is also a part of the programme that is known as the 'IB Core', where we have to write a 4000 word essay (the EE), Complete a extra subject (TOK) and C.A.S- 7 activities to complete different objectives.

I have been struggling with my mental health since the beginning of year 10 and am currently going through the process of being diagnosed so that I can receive some professional help. This has impacted my studies so much so that a meeting was called with sixth form staff where they ended up reducing my timetable to see how it goes doing certain subjects (IB Certification route) and if not to consider studying A-levels somewhere else.