The Student Room Group

Why am I like this when it comes to someone I like?

Just a brief description about me: I'm a 21 yo CS student, and I never ever had a girlfriend.
I'm pretty social, and I'm not saying it just like that. I tend to be the one who talks the most in my friend group, or even with strangers, after I spend a little time with them.
I'm one of those people who tend to make the atmosphere more "chill", when people around me are giving signs of shyness.
However, I wasn't like that all the time. Before Uni, I was pretty shy, especially around new people. Around my friends I was as I still am today, pretty crazy and always with a tendency to joke around. I was one of those nerds who was shy around strangers.
Moving on to the present, I've never had a girlfriend. I crushed on several girls through high school, and even through my college life, and also fell in love with some of them, but nothing serious happened. And I feel like I have a problem here.
Why do I consider it a problem? Because every time I catch feelings for someone (even if I never met them face-to-face, or just met them once or twice), I tend to "imagine" my life together with them, and I go around and daydream while walking outside with my headphones on for 2-3 hours per day.
No, this doesn't affect my day to day life. I do this often, but I do this mostly when I feel like I'm in love.
I'm currently "crushing" on someone (if you can still call it "crushing" when you're almost an adult), but never met her face to face. But we got some common (friends? I guess). The only way I know something about her is through the stories she's posting. I also have the tendency to post something interesting on my stories in order to gather some attention (and it sometimes works - it worked also in this case - but we didn't start a convo or something). However, I feel that doing stuff to gain attention is pretty sad and want to stop it asap.