The Student Room Group

Accommodation Nightmare

Currently studying a PGCE course, which started earlier than undergraduates, and finishes later. For some reason the rent agreement ends 3 weeks before the end of the course, so we're just being kicked out onto the street despite having a month of our course left. Module convenor has communicated with accommodation service that this is ridiculous and now accommodation has said yes, you can extend your contract, but you have to move to a different building and it costs £1100 for 3 weeks rent.

I am a trainee teacher, I have been in my overdraft for 6 months, how do they expect me to do this. Mind you, I need to move to a different accommodation whilst teaching full time 4 days a week.

Any advice? I was considering just moving into a travelodge for as long as I can, £25 a night. Or a cheap room to rent somewhere that allows a one month contract.

I don't understand how this is legal, to be frank.
Original post by Cedgy_
Currently studying a PGCE course, which started earlier than undergraduates, and finishes later. For some reason the rent agreement ends 3 weeks before the end of the course, so we're just being kicked out onto the street despite having a month of our course left. Module convenor has communicated with accommodation service that this is ridiculous and now accommodation has said yes, you can extend your contract, but you have to move to a different building and it costs £1100 for 3 weeks rent.

I am a trainee teacher, I have been in my overdraft for 6 months, how do they expect me to do this. Mind you, I need to move to a different accommodation whilst teaching full time 4 days a week.

Any advice? I was considering just moving into a travelodge for as long as I can, £25 a night. Or a cheap room to rent somewhere that allows a one month contract.

I don't understand how this is legal, to be frank.