The Student Room Group

Should I drop out?

I'm a second year podiatry student but for the whole summer and starting back, I've been questioning myself if I really enjoy what I do and if I even like it anymore. Some days I also realise that it was a rushed decision to study the course because I went through clearing after not achieving the grades I wanted. I'm also on an NHS bursary scheme so does this mean I would have to pay it off? I feel like I'm just stressing myself out. Any help is much appreciated. Should I persevere or should I resit a level biology? Then go back into uni?
(edited 6 months ago)

Scroll to see replies

If you resat your A level what would you hope to study?
Original post by alggreene
I'm also on an NHS bursary scheme so does this mean I would have to pay it off?

Are you currently studying in Wales or England? If England, then it is the NHS Learning Support Fund you will have received the training grant from and you won't need to pay back any money you received for last year. This term's payment is due after 21 November, so if you do decide to leave your course you need to inform them and you will receive a pro-rata payment for the time you've been in attendance. If you leave after receiving a payment for this term, they will work out if you owe them any overpayment.

More info in the NHS LSF guidance booklet pdf that you can download from here:

https://www.nhsbsa.nhs.uk/nhs-learning-support-fund-lsf
Original post by normaw
Are you currently studying in Wales or England? If England, then it is the NHS Learning Support Fund you will have received the training grant from and you won't need to pay back any money you received for last year. This term's payment is due after 21 November, so if you do decide to leave your course you need to inform them and you will receive a pro-rata payment for the time you've been in attendance. If you leave after receiving a payment for this term, they will work out if you owe them any overpayment.