The Student Room Group

Are grades alone enough to get into Paramedic Sciences?

I am currently studying an access to higher education course in Applied Sciences. I previously was an air hostess and am applying to several universities to get into a Paramedic Sciences course.
I am aiming to get the requirement grades but was wondering if my experience (in hospitality) and the grades alone would secure me an offer on a course?
Paramedic Science is a super course to apply for!

Many people would be surprised how many transferrable skills you have probably developed from air-hosting, therefore I would recommend reviewing and linking all of your experience to the NHS constitution values.(Mentioned below and follow this link for more info: https://www.gov.uk/government/publications/the-nhs-constitution-for-england/the-nhs-constitution-for-england)

When writing your personal statement and during any potential interviews, make sure you can provide examples and demonstrate those values, as they specifically align with the code of conduct for paramedics/ allied health professionals. Top tip: Try and imagine your customers on flights from air-hosting as potential patients in your care.

We recommend focusing on the values:

Working together with patients

Respect and dignity

Commitment of quality of care

Compassion

Improving lives

Everyone counts

If you feel worried about your experience, please remember it is always good, if you want to do anything extra or even volunteer for an hour, as it can make a huge difference and provide you with other examples to link to the values. Some examples are:

Springpod (https://www.springpod.com/virtual-work-experience/search?refinementList%5Bformat%5D%5B0%5D=COHORT&refinementList%5Bformat%5D%5B1%5D= ON_DEMAND&refinementList%5Bstatuses%5D%5B0%5D=OPEN&refinementList%5Bstatuses%5D%5B1%5D=OPEN_FOR_APPLICATION

NHS Volunteering - (https://volunteering.england.nhs.uk/)

Good Luck!
(edited 5 months ago)
Original post by KateBowyer