The Student Room Group

Which A level should I drop???

I'm currently in yr 12 and I'm studying History, Maths, Philosophy and Politics and I was thinking of studying PPE at uni. The sixth form team in my school has told me that I need to drop one of my A levels and they'll give me until the end of January to pick which one I'm doing. However, I really do not want to drop any of my A levels as I love all my subjects and all of them are relevant to what I want to study. I can't drop maths or history as unis sort of prefer people who had studied them so that means I either have to drop philosophy or politics. They are my two favourite subjects and I love both of them, although if I had to drop one, I'd go with politics. I haven't done any proper assessments yet so I there's no grades to base which one I should drop.
Reply 1
Original post by Iced_Tea
I'm currently in yr 12 and I'm studying History, Maths, Philosophy and Politics and I was thinking of studying PPE at uni. The sixth form team in my school has told me that I need to drop one of my A levels and they'll give me until the end of January to pick which one I'm doing. However, I really do not want to drop any of my A levels as I love all my subjects and all of them are relevant to what I want to study. I can't drop maths or history as unis sort of prefer people who had studied them so that means I either have to drop philosophy or politics. They are my two favourite subjects and I love both of them, although if I had to drop one, I'd go with politics. I haven't done any proper assessments yet so I there's no grades to base which one I should drop.

I'm surprised your 6th form is forcing u to drop a subject. My 6th form allowed students to move onto 2nd yr with 4 A-Levels if they knew they were doing well. What grades are u currently getting? If you're getting As and A*s try to convince them to stay studying the 4 A-Levels.